Last Day in Edinburgh

Once I managed to crawl out of bed, I went into town.
It was afternoon & I had only one destination: St. Giles Cathedral. Apparently, it is quite well known. Inside the Thistle Chapel of the church is where the members of the Order of the Thistle, the highest order in Scotland, are welcomed into the order. Indeed, the Thistle Chapel is the gem of the church. It is super tiny but the decor is all wood & very intricately carved with grapes, oak leaves, hounds, and angels. Including a bagpipe playing angel.
On the walls in the entry way was a list going back to the 1600s of all the members of the Order.
The stained glass in the cathedral was also a sight. Such beautiful windows I’ve never seen. So incredibly detailed, too. I was able to capture quite a few of them. All the while, the choir came out to practice. It was wonderful.

I then walked the High Street again until I got bored. I wasn’t really interested in shopping. Or doing much of anything. My heart was heavy & so I made a couple calls to America. It was good to talk to my friends. I wish they weren’t so far away. Today was a day, I wished I could go home. I want to sleep in my own bed, in my own apartment. I want to enjoy summer. None of this cold & rain crap. And I would like to be in a place were it gets dark by 9pm.

It was good to hang out with my friend on my last night in Edinburgh. We picnicked at a skate park & walked around a bit. We settled in another park & played on the swings & fenced with sticks. We eventually went back to my friend’s apartment in time to catch the end of Labyrinth. My friend’s flat mate was hosting a movie night. When the movie ended, I had to go to catch my train.
Although, it seems the Sunday service is different than the weeknight service & I was (am currently) at the train station an extra 30 minutes.

I used the time wisely, however, & checked tomorrow’s train times to Glasgow. Apparently, they leave pretty frequently. So, I figure I’ll get up early (hopefully), breakfast at the hotel, check out & should be able to catch a train out fairly quickly. It’s only an hour ride from Edinburgh. I can figure out how to get to my hotel on the train.

I just learned that Glasgow has a gang problem & there are all these jokes about people getting stabbed. My friend said I’ll probably be alright, but I should be careful. Please, Gods, don’t let me get stabbed.

About fenifuego

Just trying to make sense of myself and the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment