Happy Solstice, But Where’s the Sun??

Well, what a day it was! It was raining from before I woke up this morning and it continued all day until late this night. It was quite dreary & cold & I was in my femme outfit, skirt & sandals. Poo poo! Didn’t feel a bit like summer.

But all was well. I started the day with a nice cold breakfast & headed off to the city via train.
Once in, I bought a multiple pay site ticket & went to the Holyrood House Palace. It is the residence of the Queen when she is in town, which she will be on Wednesday for the Scottish Games this week. It was open today though & it was quite cute. Also, like most things in Europe, quite historical. Mary, Queen of Scots and Charles II lived. There is also a ruined Abbey that, despite the burned-down-ness, was quite beautiful.

Afterward, I went to meet up with an Obie friend at a cafe. However, I first had to get to said cafe. Of course, I got lost though I eventually found it an hour after I was supposed to meet hir there.
The cafe was super crunchy & had excellent food. I ended up with this lemon ginger tea (so good!) & the heartiest burrito ever. There was also this surprise potato salad (surprise because I didn’t expect it to be there) that was heavenly. YUM!

I then journeyed with my friend to hir’s flat & we hung out & played a homemade Apples to Apples game. Later we made what was to my first homecooked meal since I left the states. It was divine!

I had a great time catching up with my friend. A while back ze said goodbye to the states & moved to Edinburgh so it had been a while since we had seen each other. It was nice to see a familiar face & have a chill day.

Tomorrow I expect to return to high gear tourist-ing. But, hopefully, that won’t be the last I see of my friend this week.

Exhausted now. Goodnight all!

About fenifuego

Just trying to make sense of myself and the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment